lsc football academic honors announced

C.H.A.M.P.S. Heart Of Texas Bowl

Don’t Miss This

LSC Football Academic Honors announced


RICHARDSON, Texas – A trio of players highlighted the 2015 Lone Star Conference football academic awards, which were announced by league officials on Thursday.
Eastern New Mexico’s Jeremy Buurma, along with Angelo State’s Kyle Washington and Ryan Clapsaddle shared Academic Player of the Year recognition.
A total of 11 players were named to the LSC All-Academic Team, which recognizes both academic and athletic achievement.
The All-Academic Team is selected by the league’s sports information directors, who vote on the basis of both academic and athletic achievement. To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must have played in at least 50 percent of team’s contests, reached sophomore athletic and academic standing (true freshmen and redshirt freshmen are not eligible), completed at least one full academic year at the nominating institution, and have a minimum 3.30 cumulative grade point average based on the 4.0 system for his/her entire collegiate career.
With Buurma, Washington, and Clapsaddle on the All-Academic Team was Tarleton State’s Cody Burtscher, Zed Woerner, and Isaac Arellano; West Texas A&M’s Dillon Vaughan, Garrett Neuman, and Word Hudson; and Texas A&M-Commerce’s Shane Thompson and Daniel Roland.
Buurma is a three-time all-academic honoree, while Washington and Burtscher are repeat selections.
Player                                 Team                                         Pos.       Yr.             Major                                           Hometown
Jeremy Buurma              Eastern New Mexico          `Sr.           QB            Accounting                                 Las Cruces, N.M.
Kyle Washington            Angelo State                          Grad.     QB            Coach, Sport, Rec & Fitness Humble, Texas
Ryan Clapsaddle             Angelo State                          Grad.     DB            Criminal Justice                 The Woodlands,
Cody Burtscher               Tarleton State                       Jr.           LB             Biomedical Sciences                Glen Rose, Texas
Zed Woerner                   Tarleton State                       So.          QB            Kinesiology                                 Marble Falls, Texas
Dillon Vaughan                West Texas A&M                 So.          OL/TE      Finance                                        Corpus Christi, Texas
Shane Thompson           Texas A&M-Commerce      Sr.           OL             Master of Business                 Keller, Texas
Garrett Neuman            West Texas A&M                  So.          OL             Business Management          Hondo, Texas
Word Hudson                  West Texas A&M                 Sr.           WR           Accounting/Finance                Sonora, Texas
Daniel Roland                  Texas A&M-Commerce      So.          LB             Finance and Mathematics    Rockwall, Texas
Isaac Arellano                  Tarleton State                      Grad.     P               Kinesiology                                 Euless, Texas
Special Recognition
Academic Player of the Year: Jeremy Buurma, Eastern New Mexico, Kyle Washington, Angelo State, and Ryan Clapsaddle, Angelo State

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *